Negus Notes

Musical Musings

on October 12, 2015

Since I began writing a blog, I have learned a thing or two.  First, although forced to do this, it is not such a bad thing.  Secondly, many people seem to write whatever their little hearts desire and do not follow a format. Third, blogs are read by some for which they are written and others, well…….just don’t have the time to find it.

So, with that in mind, I begin. I am having a great time doing what I love- teaching middle school children and using music to do it. (Middle school in my life encompasses grades 5-8.) Being able to laugh with a fifth grader and cry with a seventh grader enriches my life.  Sharing my passion for adventure and for music is a great blessing.

I watch my little granddaughter dance on Face Time and I am amazed.  She is only 9 months old and yet, there she is, standing right up and bouncing those knees. She is delighted to hear the music and respond to it. I see the same thing in my sixth grade classes. Every week we begin class by dancing. Basically, I want to see if they are improving their steady beat keeping. But everyone loves just getting out there and cutting a rug, so to speak. The music is usually “oldies” since I choose and never seem to be able to find the “clean version” of today’s popular music.  But the kids love it just the same and sometimes even sing along.

I watch with the same amazement when the seventh graders are diligently working at playing the twelve bar blues on the keyboard – different kind of fun but the same kind of joy when he/she “gets it.” I also love hearing the choir kids out in the hallway, singing out a song that we have just gotten under our belts; the “struggle is good” concept so recently conquered. Even those blasted ocarinas in the fifth grade have some melodious merit – as long as we play below G!!  But the kids are so proud when “Little Tommy Tinker” sounds like a real song. When they realize it is a round, it is as if they have discovered the cure to cancer.

And my eighth graders……, who sleep through much, have moments when music -and even something I say – touches them.  I see it in their eyes.  Sometimes I have to watch and wait, but it is there. Even if I have not touched them in some musical or educational way, they touch my heart – saying “thank you Mrs. Negus” as they leave the room, having straightened the chairs without being asked. Wonderful kids………so glad I have a little tiny part of their lives in my hands right now.  They will soon be gone just like all of the eighth graders before them.

So, are you still reading? I have my doubts that many will.  But there is something very freeing about just writing as my thoughts pass by. So here it is.  On Friday, I will go back to my newsletter format and inform the masses of the QA middle school music curriculum in proper paragraphs. Right now, I am going to get another cup of tea, listen to the Brahms Requiem, enjoy the beautiful day, and think about “my kids.” Life is good.

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar